Tech selects Who’s Who for 2015

February 12, 2015


Staff Reporter


The Louisiana Tech Student Government Association has chosen 23 seniors to be named Who’s Who among Tech students.


Barry Morales, the faculty adviser for SGA, said Who’s Who recognizes graduating seniors that represent the university.


“It is a recognition award for students who have accomplished much during their times at the university,” he said.


Morales said students were chosen based on their application, academic transcript and their performance during an interview.


The award is a top honor, said Colby Ashley, the academic affairs cabinet member for SGA.“It is given to students who represent the university through academics and social involvement,” he said.


Ashley said for students to be eligible they must be a graduating senior, have obtained more than 100 hours, have a good GPA, and be involved on campus and throughout the community.


“The whole application process is long and tough,” he said. “It was hard to narrow down the list when so many people applied and were qualified for the award.”


Justin Huckaby said he is honored to receive the title along with other top students.


“I was ecstatic when I heard I had been named Who’s Who,” said Huckaby, a senior biomedical engineering major. “This is something that I can carry with me for the rest of my life.”


Huckaby said he is thankful for this award to honor his hard work and dedication throughout his time at Tech.


“From a long-term viewpoint, the whole process involves hard work and dedication to my studies,” he said. “Honors such as these are not easily obtained.”


Presley May, a senior biology major, said she was honored to be named a Who’s Who of the university she loves.


“This award is something employers look at when applying for jobs,” she said. “When employers see Who’s Who on my resume, they will know I am dedicated and possess leadership qualities.”


The 10 male seniors who were named Who’s Who are Ashmit Pykurel, Austin Youngman, Carson Guillory, Cody Hill, Dillon Miller, Forest Engel, Jesse Willis, Jordan Rushing, Justin Huckaby and Nick Oliver.


The 13 female seniors are Caletter Corcoran, Camella Card, Christa Swafford, Courtney Allbritton, Jessi Fitts, Kate Warner, Leslie Brister, Maggie Brakeville, Morgan Potts, Presley May, Sabra Norris, Taylor Giddings and Taylor Haynie.


“This really is a top honor,” Morales said. “I want to congratulate all the winners on their accomplishments and wish them the best of luck in their futures.”


Email comments to kec029@latech.edu.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *